Post 22: Tunisian Crochet

So I have to gush……i got in umbc and am super excited…but dealing with school is taking a lot of my time.

The topic of this post is Tunisian/Afghan crochet.  I love tunisian because I always wanted to create a “knit look” without have to learn how to knit.   I think that it is also a pretty fast stitch, so it saves me time especially if I’m using thick yarn.  The stitches of tunisian crochet are pretty basic to learn, the only thing that gives me a little trouble is remembering what all the symbols mean…. and this is coming from someone who prefers crochet  charts to written instructions.

First the tools: There is a specific crochet hook used for tunisian crochet.  Its and elongated crochet hook that has a stopper, of some sort, and a regular hook at the other end.  The hooks come in various sizes and lengths. They are a little hard to find in stores but are easily found in on ebay.  The ones that I have found in stores, in my area,  tend to be small, usually in the 5 to 6 mm range, and are usually a  foot long.  I had to go to ebay to find some that were 22 inches long and ranged in sizes from 5.0mm to 12mm. I needed something larger because I planned on making a circular scarf out of chunky yarn.  There are also circular tunisian hooks that can be used for things like blankets or for hats.

The symbols for the stitches arent as straight forwards as i think other crochet symbols are…but I’m hoping that the more I work with tunisian, sooner or later, they will get imprinted on my mind.  Below are the basic stitches that are used in tunisian. I got them from two different books. The ones that are stacked are just different symbols for the same stitch . There are more stitches, but I am just showing the basics. The TKS( tunisian knit stitch) and TPS (tunisian purl stitch) really mimic the look of knitting. Something to remember with the symbols is that the straight/squiggly line at the top if each symbol actually symbolizes the return row. It’s the symbol under the straight or squiggly line that tells you how u are going to to pick up the loop.

I know something thats always said is” knitting allows for better draping than crochet”. Tunisian usually creates a pretty tight weave so to help with the drape i try to use a larger hook, for the same yarn weight, than i would usually use. If done with the right gauge it makes great, warm, and durable blankets….but on the other hand tunisian lace patterns are also gorgeous.

Below are links to helpful videos:

1. T-chain, loops, and first return row.

2. T-knit stitch.

3. T-purl stitch

I have started two new projects using this technique and will be posting those.

Leave a Reply

